Staff and Board

Current Staff (as of May, 2024)

Brighton Headquarters

14500 Lark Bunting Lane
Brighton, CO 80603
(303) 659-4348 | Fax (303) 654-0791

Elinda Dennis, Chief Administrative Officer
Rita Campbell, Accounting Manager
Josh Borchers, Staff Accountant
Megan Wallace, Accounting Specialist
Sherry Nickolaus, Education Director
Sarah Doxon, Education Manager
Colin Woolley, Banding Manager
Becky Heath, Camp Manager
Payson Cronen-Smith, Environmental Educator
Xitlaly Avitia, Bilingual Environmental Educator
Nellie Boyd-Owens, Environmental Educator
Kelsi Massengale, AmeriCorps Environmental Educator
Meredith McBurney, Bander and Volunteer Coordinator
Joe Pettit, Development Director
Taylor Dziedzina, Development Assistant

Nebraska Office

4502 Avenue I
Scottsbluff, NE 69361
(308) 633-1013

Delanie Bruce, Nebraska Education Manager
Noelle Grunwald, Environmental Educator

Fort Collins Office

230 Cherry Street
Fort Collins, CO 80521
(970) 482-1707 | Fax (970) 472-9031

Tammy VerCauteren, Executive Director
Jenny Berven, Senior Program Manager
Jacob Job, Communications Director
Tyler Cash, Digital Engagement Manager
Marion Clement, Senior Avian Ecologist-Mexican Spotted Owl Coordinator
Adrienne Cunningham, Avian Ecologist
Emily Chavez, Stewardship Director
Angela Dwyer, Program Manager – Northern Great Plains
Rachel Belouin, Program Manager – Southern Plains
Anna Greenberg, Program Manager – Wetlands
Nilanjana Saha, Program Manager – Forests
Jacy Bernath-Plaisted, Applied Conservation Scientist
Lauren Newman, Stewardship Assistant
Stephen Howland, Informatics Program Manager
Kylie Lamoree, Avian Ecologist
Nick Haddad, Motus Biologist
Edward Landi, Avian Ecologist
Chris Latimer, Research Director
Brittany Leslie, Program Manager
Quresh Latif, Research Scientist
Matthew McLaren, Avian Ecologist/IMBCR Coordinator
Arvind Panjabi, Senior Research Scientist
David Pavlacky, Biometrician
Jessie Reese, Senior Avian Ecologist
Brandt Ryder, Chief Conservation Scientist
Allison Shaw, Ecologist-Data Specialist
Rob Sparks, Senior Spatial Ecologist-Spatial Analysis Coordinator
Matt Smith, Avian Ecologist
Jennifer Timmer, Senior Avian Ecologist-Conservation Delivery Lead
TC Walker, Avian Ecologist
Matt Webb, Avian Ecologist
Chris White, Director of Science Operations
Qing Zhao, Research Associate

Field & Remote Office Staff

Marcella Tarantino, Senior Wildlife Biologist
(Gunnison, CO)
Harold Campbell, Wildlife Habitat Biologist
(Gillette, WY)
Kyle Deschenes, Wildlife Habitat Biologist
(Woodland Park, CO)
Jackson Ebbers, Wildlife Habitat Biologist
(Trenton, NE)
Katherine Crawley, Wildlife Habitat Biologist
(Chadron, NE)
Anna Gaw, Wildlife Habitat Biologist
(Fort Morgan, CO)
Kristin May, Wildlife Habitat Biologist
(Sturgis, SD)
Olivia Laws, Wildlife Habitat Biologist
(Sterling, CO)
Yue Pheng Lee, Wildlife Habitat Biologist
(Trinidad, CO)
Ashley Mertz, Wildlife Habitat Biologist
(Greeley, CO)
Zoe Moffett, Wildlife Habitat Biologist
(Walsenburg, CO)
Bryan Nuse, Research Scientist
(Athens, GA)
Maggie Hannah, Central Grasslands Roadmap Director
(Fountain, CO)

Former Staff at Bird Conservancy of the Rockies • January, 2023 - April, 2024

Olivia Lappin, Wildlife Habitat Biologist
Anna Stears, Wildlife Habitat Biologist
Katie Merewether, Senior Wildlife Habitat Biologist
Tayler Scherr, Senior Wildlife Habitat Biologist
Amy Burnett, Communications Director
Eric Zach, Stewardship Director
Nannette Archuleta, Grant Manager

2023-24 Board of Directors

Eileen Dey, B.S.
Chair of the Board

Eric M. Lane, M.S.
DEIA/Nominating Committee

Chrissie Coolidge, MBA
Governance Committee

Geoff Geupel, B.S.

Tonie Hansen
Secretary, Finance Committee

Rosa Maria Vidal

Kathryn Heet, J.D.
Governance Committee

Garth Spellman, Ph.D.
Board Vice Chair

Nathan Pieplow, M.Ed.

Dave Otis, Ph.D.

John Sanderson, Ph.D

D. Jean Tate, Ph.D.
Development Committee

Ed Warner, M.S., L.H.D.
Development Committee

Alejandro Carillo, M.S.

Jeanine Corvetto
Finance Committee & Treasurer

Outgoing Board of Directors Members, 2023

Larry Modesitt, Past Board Chair, Finance, Development and Executive Committees

Bird Conservancy of the Rockies is looking for talented, energetic candidates to join its Board of Directors. We are looking for volunteers with a commitment to conservation. Though Bird Conservancy is headquartered in Brighton, Colorado our reach includes the western United States and Mexico, so candidates within and outside the Front Range of Colorado are eligible.  The Board meets quarterly, typically in the Denver-metro area. Remote participation is possible, although some personal attendance during the year is necessary for engagement and immersion in the mission.  Click here to download a complete Board of Directors role description.