Staff and Board

Current Staff (as of May, 2023)

Brighton Headquarters

14500 Lark Bunting Lane
Brighton, CO 80603
(303) 659-4348 | Fax (303) 654-0791

Elinda Dennis, Chief Administrative Officer
Nannette Archuleta, Grant Manager
Xitlaly Avitia, Bilingual Environmental Educator
Nellie Boyd-Owens, Americorps Environmental Educator
Rita Campbell, Accounting Manager
Sarah Doxon, Education Manager
Taylor Dziedzina, Development and Executive Assistant
Becky Heath, Camp Manager
Meredith McBurney, Bander and Volunteer Coordinator
Sherry Nickolaus, Education Director
Joe Pettit, Development Director
Tina Wells, Office Coordinator
Colin Woolley, Banding Manager

Nebraska Office

4502 Avenue I
Scottsbluff, NE 69361
(308) 633-1013

Delanie Bruce, Nebraska Education Manager
Noelle Grunwald, Environmental Educator

Fort Collins Office

230 Cherry Street
Fort Collins, CO 80521
(970) 482-1707 | Fax (970) 472-9031

Tammy VerCauteren, Executive Director
Rachel Belouin, Program Manager – Southern Plains
Jenny Berven, Senior Program Manager
Amy Burnett, Communications Director
Tyler Cash, Digital Engagement Manager
Marion Clement, Senior Avian Ecologist-Mexican Spotted Owl Coordinator
Angela Dwyer, Program Manager – Northern Great Plains
Rob Fenwick, Program Manager – Watershed Health
Stephen Howland, Informatics Program Manager
Kylie Lamoree, Avian Ecologist
Edward Landi, Avian Ecologist
Chris Latimer, Research Director
Brittany Leslie, Program Manager
Quresh Latif, Research Scientist
Matthew McLaren, Avian Ecologist/IMBCR Coordinator
Arvind Panjabi, Senior Research Scientist
David Pavlacky, Biometrician
Jessie Reese, Avian Ecologist
Brandt Ryder, Chief Conservation Scientist
Allison Shaw, Ecologist-Data Specialist
Rob Sparks, Senior Spatial Ecologist-Spatial Analysis Coordinator
Matt Smith, Avian Ecologist
Jennifer Timmer, Senior Avian Ecologist-Conservation Delivery Lead
TC Walker, Avian Ecologist
Matt Webb, Avian Ecologist
Chris White, Director of Science Operations
Eric Zach, Stewardship Director
Qing Zhao, Research Associate

Field & Remote Office Staff

Harold Campbell, Private Lands Wildlife Biologist
(Gillette, WY)
Kyle Deschenes, Private Lands Wildlife Biologist
(Woodland Park, CO)
Jackson Ebbers, Private Lands Wildlife Biologist
(Trenton, NE)
Neal Feeken, Central Grasslands Roadmap Director
Anna Gaw, Private Lands Wildlife Biologist
(Fort Morgan, CO)
Anna Greenberg, Private Lands Wildlife Biologist
(Alamosa, CO)
Olivia Lappin, Private Lands Wildlife Biologist
(Sturgis, SD)
Olivia Laws, Private Lands Wildlife Biologist
(Sterling, CO)
Yue Pheng Lee, Private Lands Wildlife Biologist
(Trinidad, CO)
Katie Merewether, Private Lands Wildlife Biologist
(Rocky Ford, CO)
Ashley Mertz, Private Lands Wildlife Biologist
(Greeley, CO)
Bryan Nuse, Research Scientist
(Athens, GA)
Anna Stearns, Private Lands Wildlife Biologist
(Clayton, NM)
Tayler Scherr, Senior Wildlife Biologist
(Glendive, MT)
Marcella Tarantino, Senior Wildlife Biologist
(Gunnison, CO)

Former Staff at Bird Conservancy of the Rockies • January, 2022 - May, 2023

Jennifer Blakesley, Senior Research Scientist
David McNitt, Private Lands Wildlife Biologist
Renea Wilson, Private Lands Wildlife Biologist
Mandy Ensrud, Private Lands Wildlife Biologist
Michael Getzy, IT Manager
William Bevil, Communications Director
Trent Delehanty, Private Lands Wildlife Biologist
Kaitlyn Nafziger, Private Lands Wildlife Biologist
Laura Smedsrud, Nebraska Environmental Educator
Annie Hawkinson, Senior Avian Ecologist- Winter Monitoring Lead

Skye Newman, Education Programs Coordinator
Sofia Prado-Irwin, Digital Engagement Specialist
Laura Quattrini, Habitat Coordinator
Erin Strasser, Full Annual Cycle Avian Ecologist
Erin Youngberg, Avian Ecologist-Front Range Coordinator
Chelsea Forehead, Private Lands Wildlife Biologist
Eric Chabot, Spatial Ecologist
Lauren Connell, Stewardship Director
Kathleen Lich, Environmental Educator

2022-23 Board of Directors

Eric M. Lane, M.S.
Chair of the Board, Executive Committee

Garth Spellman, Ph.D

Chrissie Coolidge, MBA
Governance Committee

Eileen Dey, B.S.
Development Committee

Geoff Geupel, B.S.

Tonie Hansen
Development Committee

Nathan Pieplow, M.Ed.

Larry Modesitt, M.B.A., C.Q.E., C.T.P.
Past Board Chair, Finance, Development and Executive Committees

Dave Otis, Ph.D.

John Sanderson, Ph.D

D. Jean Tate, Ph.D.
Development Committee

Ed Warner, M.S., L.H.D.
Development Committee

Alejandro Carillo, M.S.

Outgoing Board of Directors Members, 2022

Grady Grissom, Stewardship Committee  •  Peter J. Ampe, Secretary of the Board, Executive Committee  •  Jack Ferguson, Development Committee • David M. Charles, M.D.

Bird Conservancy of the Rockies is looking for talented, energetic candidates to join its Board of Directors. We are looking for volunteers with a commitment to conservation. Though Bird Conservancy is headquartered in Brighton, Colorado our reach includes the western United States and Mexico, so candidates within and outside the Front Range of Colorado are eligible.  The Board meets quarterly, typically in the Denver-metro area. Remote participation is possible, although some personal attendance during the year is necessary for engagement and immersion in the mission.  Click here to download a complete Board of Directors role description.