Staff and Board

At least once per year, the Bird Conservancy team comes from far and wide to meet in person for a full staff meeting. Unfortunately, COVID-19 prevented our gathering in 2020. The photos above represent many of our team members, but definitely not all!  In fact, Bird Conservancy’s ranks almost double during the field season to include avian monitoring technicians, environmental educators and other seasonal staff.

Current Staff (as of May, 2021)

Brighton Headquarters

14500 Lark Bunting Lane
Brighton, CO 80603
(303) 659-4348 | Fax (303) 654-0791

Elinda Dennis, Chief Administrative Officer
Nannette Archuleta, Grant Accountant
Tyler Cash, Camp & Community Coordinator
Sarah Doxon, Early Childhood and Family Coordinator
Faye Lamb, Grant Writer
Meredith McBurney, Biologist/Bird Bander
Sherry Nickolaus, Education Director
Kelsey Mazur, Outreach and Volunteer Coordinator
Rita Sims, Accounting Manager
Tina Wells, Office Coordinator
Colin Woolley, Banding Coordinator

Nebraska Office

4502 Avenue I
Scottsbluff, NE 69361
(308) 633-1013

Delanie Bruce
Nebraska Wildlife Education Coordinator

Fort Collins Office

230 Cherry Street
Fort Collins, CO 80521
(970) 482-1707 | Fax (970) 472-9031

Tammy VerCauteren, Executive Director
Jenny Berven, Senior Program Manager
William Bevil, Communications Director
Jennifer Blakesley, Senior Research Scientist
Eric Chabot, GIS Biologist
Lauren Connell, Stewardship Director
Angela Dwyer, Habitat Coordinator
Annie Hawkinson, Avian Ecologist
Brittany Leslie, Program Manager
Quresh Latif, Research Scientist
Matthew McLaren, Avian Ecologist/IMBCR Coordinator
Arvind Panjabi, Avian Conservation Scientist
David Pavlacky, Research Scientist
Laura Quattrini, Habitat Coordinator
Jessie Reese, Habitat Coordinator
Brandt Ryder, Chief Conservation Scientist
Allison Shaw, Ecologist
Rob Sparks, Research Biologist/GIS Manager
Matt Smith, Avian Ecologist
Erin Strasser, Full Annual Cycle Avian Ecologist
Jennifer Timmer, Conservation Delivery Biologist
Matt Webb, Avian Ecologist
Chris White, Conservation Delivery Lead
Erin Youngberg, Community and Outreach Biologist

Field Offices

Trent Delehanty, Private Lands Wildlife Biologist
(Rocky Ford, CO)
Chelsea Forehead, Private Lands Wildlife Biologist
(Chadron, NE)
Kelsea Holloway, Private Lands Wildlife Biologist
(Greeley, CO)
Kristina Kline, Private Lands Wildlife Biologist
(Durango, CO)
Justin Lambert, Private Lands Wildlife Biologist
(Springfield, CO)
Jennifer Lutze, Private Lands Wildlife Biologist
(Sturgis, SD)
Neal Martorelli, Private Lands Wildlife Biologist
(Gillette, WY)
Katie Merewether, Private Lands Wildlife Biologist
(Rocky Ford, CO)
David McNitt, Private Lands Wildlife Biologist
(Woodland Park, CO)
Kaitlyn Nafziger, Private Lands Wildlife Biologist
(Cañon City, CO)
Anna Stearns, Private Lands Wildlife Biologist
(Clayton, NM)
Tayler Scherr, Private Lands Wildlife Biologist
(Glendive, MT)
Marcella Tarantino, Private Lands Wildlife Biologist
(Gunnison, CO)

Former Staff at Bird Conservancy of the Rockies in 2020

Emily Chavez, Private Lands Wildlife Biologist
Maureen (Mo) Correll, Landscape Ecologist
Kelli Hirsch, Development Director
Chaley Jensen, Nebraska Wildlife Education Coordinator
Wendy Lanier, Spotted Owl Project Leader
Stacey Monahan, Camp and Family Coordinator

Kaitlyn Nafziger, Private Lands Wildlife Biologist
Ryan Parker, Private Lands Wildlife Biologist
Alex Van Boer, GIS Biologist
Nick Van Lanen, Biologist
Ty Woodward, Private Lands Wildlife Biologist

2020-21 Board of Directors

Eric M. Lane, M.S.
Chairman of the Board, Executive Committee

Yvette Martinez
Outgoing Board Chair, Development, Finance and Executive Committees

Peter J. Ampe, Esq., J.D.
Secretary of the Board, Executive Committee

Jim S. Strickland

David M. Charles, M.D.
Development Committee

Eileen Dey, B.S.
Development Committee

Jack Ferguson
Development Committee

Geoff Geupel, B.S.

Grady Grissom, Ph.D.
Stewardship Committee

David Otis, Ph.D.

Nathan Pieplow, M.Ed.

Larry Modesitt, M.B.A., C.Q.E., C.T.P.
Past Board Chair, Finance, Development and Executive Committees

John Sanderson, Ph.D

Garth Spellman, Ph.D

D. Jean Tate, Ph.D.
Development Committee

Ed Warner, M.S., L.H.D.
Development Committee

Bird Conservancy of the Rockies is looking for talented, energetic candidates to join its Board of Directors. We are looking for volunteers with a commitment to conservation. Though Bird Conservancy is headquartered in Brighton, Colorado our reach includes the western United States and Mexico, so candidates within and outside the Front Range of Colorado are eligible.  The Board meets quarterly, typically in the Denver-metro area. Remote participation is possible, although some personal attendance during the year is necessary for engagement and immersion in the mission.  Click here to download a complete Board of Directors role description.